Half-hour storytimes at 10:30 most mornings: babies on Tuesdays, families on Wednesdays and Fridays, bilingual on Thursdays, through November 20; Saturday storytime for all ages through December 26, and a Sensory Storytime on November 28. Drop in.
Who
Baby Storytime birth to 24 months; family storytimes toddlers through preschool; bilingual and Saturday storytimes all ages; Sensory Storytime ages 2–8
When
Tue 10:30 am Baby Storytime; Wed 10:30 am Family Storytime; Thu 10:30 am Bilingual Storytime; Fri 10:30 am Family Storytime; Sat 10:30 am Saturday Storytime
Season
Weekday storytimes August 18 to November 20, 2026; Saturday storytime August 1 to December 26; Sensory Storytime Saturday, November 28, 10:30–11 am
Where
Lafayette Public Library, 775 W Baseline Rd; the lower-level Meeting Room or the upstairs Kid Zone, posted in the lobby
Cost
Free
No registration Drop in; check the storytime sign in the lobby for the room
The City’s after-school program at the recreation center for children from Pioneer, Peak to Peak, Lafayette and Ryan elementaries, with transport from school, 2:50 to 6 pm on school days. $275 to $515 a month for residents by days a week; new families registered from April 14.
Who
Elementary students at Pioneer, Peak to Peak, Lafayette and Ryan
When
School days, check-in at 2:50 pm to cleanup ending at 6 pm, on the BVSD calendar
Season
2026–27 school year from August 12
Where
Bob L. Burger Recreation Center, 111 W Baseline Rd; transport from each school with at least five enrolled children a day from that school
Cost
Monthly: 5 days $515 resident / $615 non-resident; 4 days $465 / $560; 3 days $370 / $445; 2 days $275 / $330; $35 one-time registration fee
Registration required Pre-register on WebTrac with the code for your child’s school (434200-P Pioneer, -R Ryan, -L Lafayette, -P2P Peak to Peak), then complete the ePACT profile emailed to you; enrollment depends on transport and space. Current families from April 7 at 8 am, new families from April 14
Performing and visual arts classes for all ages by semester, the Arts Hub Thespians theatre program for ages 11–16, the Treble Singers, private lessons, camps and an adult mainstage with open auditions. A youth cast of Little Women rehearses from January 5 for March shows.
Who
All ages; Thespians 11–16; the Little Women youth cast 13–18; adult mainstage 18 and up
When
By class; the Little Women youth cast rehearses Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from January 5, with tech week February 28 to March 4
Season
Spring 2027 semester; performances March 6, 13 and 20, 2027
Where
The Arts Hub, 420 Courtney Way
Cost
Not stated on the site’s front page; on each class listing
Registration required Through the Arts Hub’s class and production pages
Kids ages 5 to 10 read for 15 minutes to a therapy dog in the library’s Kid Zone, one Sunday afternoon a month: November 8, December 13, January 10 and January 24, 1:30 to 2:30 pm. Drop in.
Who
Ages 5–10
When
Sundays 1:30–2:30 pm: November 8, December 13, January 10, January 24
Season
Monthly through 2027 on the library’s calendar
Where
Kid Zone, Lafayette Public Library, 775 W Baseline Rd
Full-day camps, 8 am to 5:30 pm, on BVSD days off: November 11, 23, 24 and 25, December 21–23 and 28–30, January 4 and 18, February 15–17 and March 15–19. $60 a day for residents, $72 for non-residents; register a week ahead. 2027 dates open December 8.
Who
All school-aged children, in the City’s words
When
8 am–5:30 pm on each camp day
Season
Wed Nov 11; Mon–Wed Nov 23–25; Mon–Wed Dec 21–23 and Dec 28–30; Mon Jan 4; Mon Jan 18; Mon–Wed Feb 15–17; Mon–Fri Mar 15–19, 2027
Where
Bob L. Burger Recreation Center, 111 W Baseline Rd
Cost
$60 a day for residents, $72 for non-residents; sold by the day
Bring
A lunch, two snacks and a water bottle
Registration required · opens Online through WebTrac; the deadline for each camp is one week before the camp day. Registration for the 2027 dates opens December 8 for residents and December 19 for non-residents
The library’s makerspace, with 3D printers, a Glowforge laser cutter, Cricut cutters, a sewing and embroidery machine, button makers and a heat press, open for drop-in use four afternoons a week; Mondays are the Teen Maker Hangout for grades 6–12.
Who
All ages; children in grade 5 and below must be with someone over 17 at all times. Teen Maker Hangout: grades 6–12
Fall hours; closed December 21 to January 1 for maintenance, reopening Tuesday, January 2
Where
Studio 775 Makerspace, Lafayette Public Library, 775 W Baseline Rd
Cost
Free with a library card
Bring
Prusa i3 MK3 and MINI+ 3D printers, a Glowforge laser cutter, Cricut Explore Air 2 and Maker 3, a Brother sewing and embroidery machine, three button makers, a heat press, a die-cut machine, a metal stamping kit, Adobe Creative Suite on iMac and PC
Registration required A regular library card (not an online card) and a signed Makerspace Policies and Risk Release Form for each user; check in with your card every visit
Status: Not started yetThe 2026 season ends November 30; 2027 plots go on sale January 7.. Starts March 1, 2027
Rent a garden plot at West Emma and Miller for the March-to-November season: $40 to $80 for residents by size, a refundable half deposit, two plots at most. Registration for 2027 opens January 7 for residents and January 14 for non-residents.
Who
Adults; the City sets no age on the page
Season
March 1 to November 30; water on from about May to October or November
Where
Wilson Community Gardens, 500 S Miller Ave
Cost
Residents: 20×20 ft $80, 10×20 $70, 10×10 $65, 6×12 $55, 2×8 raised bed $40; non-residents $96, $84, $77, $66 and $48; a 50 percent deposit is returned in November to gardeners who follow the rules
Registration required · opens Online through the WebTrac link on the page, or in person at the Bob L. Burger Recreation Center; unreserved plots are first come, first servedOpens January 7 for residents and January 14 for non-residents; plots must show work by April 15 or may be reassigned
Register →Contact: recreation@lafayetteco.gov; 303-665-0469; weekend water problems to the Parks on-call line, 303-589-9632Source: lafayetteco.gov, read
Aqua Baby and Aqua Tots for 6 to 36 months with a parent in the water, Dolphin 1–4 for ages 3 to 5 and Levels 1–6 from age 6, in Tuesday/Thursday sessions (next November 2–19 and December 1–17) and Saturday sessions. Register on WebTrac or at the front desk.
Who
Aqua Baby and Aqua Tots 6–36 months; Dolphin 1–4 ages 3–5; Levels 1–6 ages 6 and up
When
Tuesday/Thursday sessions and Saturday sessions; class times are on WebTrac
Season
Tue/Thu Session C November 2–19 and Session D December 1–17; Saturday Session B October 17–November 21. Winter sessions were not posted when read
Where
Rose Lueras Pool, Bob L. Burger Recreation Center, 111 W Baseline Rd
Cost
Not stated on the lessons page; on WebTrac
Registration required Online on WebTrac through the Aqua Tots, Dolphin or Level links on the lessons page, or in person at the recreation center
The City’s youth leagues and clinics by season: winter basketball from Tiny Tykes (kindergarten) and Pee Wee (grades 1–2) to K–8 leagues and indoor soccer; spring and fall soccer from age 3, flag football for grades 1–8, tennis and racquetball lessons; summer t-ball, baseball and softball. Register on WebTrac.
Who
Tiny Tykes 3 years (soccer) or kindergarten (basketball); Pee Wee 4–5 years or grades 1–2; leagues K–8th grade; tennis 4–14; racquetball 9–15
When
By sport and season; dates and times are on the registration site
Season
Winter: basketball and indoor soccer. Spring: soccer, tennis, racquetball. Summer: t-ball, baseball, softball, camps and clinics. Fall: soccer, flag football, racquetball
Where
Bob L. Burger Recreation Center, 111 W Baseline Rd, and City fields
Cost
Not stated on the youth sports page; prices are on the registration site
Registration required Online through the City’s WebTrac registration site (search YSports), or at the recreation center
Included with admission or membership: Littlest Learners for ages 0–3 with a caregiver on Wednesdays at 9:30, storytimes Tuesdays at 10 and Thursdays at 11, STEAM to the MAX after school on Thursdays at 3:30, Science Spot on Fridays at 10, and a Story Craft on November 13.
Who
Littlest Learners 0–3 with caregivers; the rest all ages, with an adult
When
Tue 10 am Storytime; Wed 9:30–10 am Littlest Learners; Thu 11–11:30 am Storytime and 3:30–4:15 pm STEAM to the MAX; Fri 10 am Science Spot
Season
On the museum’s calendar through December 5; closed Thanksgiving, and at 3 pm on November 7
Where
WOW! Children’s Museum, 110 N Harrison Ave
Cost
Included with museum admission (children 1–11 $15, adults $9) or membership
Also for this age:Storytimes at the Lafayette Public Library (Baby Storytime birth to 24 months; family storytimes toddlers through preschool; bilingual and Saturday storytimes all ages; Sensory Storytime ages 2–8).
Teens
League or team · Centaurus High School (Boulder Valley School District)
The Warriors’ teams by season: football, soccer, volleyball, softball and cross country in the fall; basketball, wrestling, girls’ swim and dive and ice hockey in winter (basketball and wrestling from November 16); baseball, lacrosse, track and boys’ volleyball in spring.
Season
Winter: girls’ swim and dive and ice hockey from November 9, basketball and wrestling from November 16. Spring: lacrosse, boys’ volleyball and boys’ swim from February 22, baseball, girls’ soccer and tennis and track from March 1
Where
Centaurus High School, 10300 S Boulder Rd
Cost
Not stated on the athletics page; see its Registration & Fees page
Registration required Through the athletics site’s Registration & Fees page
Register →Contact: Karl Buck, assistant principal for athletics and activities, 720-561-5362; school 720-561-7500Source: ceh.bvsd.org, read
Lafayette’s neighborhood schools are Lafayette, Ryan, Sanchez and Pioneer elementaries, Angevine Middle and Centaurus High, with Peak to Peak a K–12 charter; BVSD’s finder gives the school for an address. Choice enrollment for 2027–28 runs November 1 to December 18, offers about December 23.
Who
Preschool to grade 12
Cost
Not stated on the organizer’s page
Registration required · Apply in SchoolMint from November 1 with a ranked list of schools and the required documents; accept an offer within its 13-day window and complete registration, or the seat is forfeited. Late applications are taken to August 31, 2027
Teens 14 and older mentor younger kids as Reading, Writing or Spanish Buddies in session-long programs, pick up Sunday afternoon service shifts, or help at library events. Apply through the library’s Teen Team form and the City’s Engage site.
Who
14 and older; most opportunities are for 14- to 17-year-olds, or 18-year-olds still in high school
When
Teen Service Sundays 1–3 pm year-round; Buddy programs on weekday afternoons 4:30–5:30 by session; event shifts as posted on Engage
Season
Year-round; the fall Buddy sessions ran September 22 to October 29, and the next session is not yet posted
Where
Lafayette Public Library, 775 W Baseline Rd
Cost
Free
Registration required Complete the Teen Team application on the library’s site; you will be asked to create an account on the City’s Engage volunteer platform, where shifts are posted
Volunteer needReading Buddies for grades K–3, Writing Buddies and Spanish Buddies (Spanish proficiency required) for grades 3–5, Sunday service shifts and event help
Five ways into the City’s 1,640 acres of open space: Trail Ambassadors, Open Space Stewards who pull weeds and plant natives, Naturalists who log species on iNaturalist and eBird, weekend volunteers at The Shack at Waneka Lake, and event support. Recruitment is open; apply on Engage.
Who
The City’s page sets no age
When
By role; The Shack opens weekends 1–3 pm September to April and 9–11 am May to August
Season
Year-round; “Volunteer recruitment is now open for all positions!”
Where
Lafayette open space and trails; The Shack at Waneka Lake and the Greenlee Wildlife Preserve, 1600 Caria Dr
Cost
Free
Registration required Apply for an ongoing role on the City’s Engage site; for a one-time or group project, email the Open Space Coordinator
Volunteer needAll positions open, per the City’s page
Volunteers clear the sidewalk, driveway and a path to the door for a Lafayette resident 55 or older who cannot shovel, within 24 hours of any snowfall over two inches, for the whole winter. The City is short of volunteers, especially along the 95th Street corridor.
Who
The City’s page sets no age for volunteers; residents served are 55 and older
When
Within 24 hours of a snowfall over two inches, every storm of the season
Season
2026–27 winter
Where
Assigned homes across Lafayette
Cost
Free
Bring
Your own shovel or snow blower
Registration required Complete the seasonal Snow Removal Volunteer Agreement and Release at lafayetteco.gov/SnowAngelVolunteerForm
Volunteer needThe City says the program has reached capacity for the residents it can serve on the volunteers it has, and urgently needs volunteers along the 95th corridor between Arapahoe and Baseline
Register →Contact: snowangels@lafayetteco.gov; Resource Coordinator Sarah Cooper, 303-661-1499; Senior Center 303-665-9052Source: lafayetteco.gov, read
Organizations a family can join
Memberships and their prices are the organization's; what a membership includes is on its row.
The nonprofit that runs the Lafayette History Museum. Membership from $20 a year ($35 a family, $250 for life); volunteer docents for Saturday mornings and Thursdays, research volunteers who work from home, and collections volunteers who catalog more than 4,000 objects.
Who
Adults; family memberships cover two or more immediate family members
When
Docents: at least two two-hour shifts a month during open hours, with Saturdays 8–12 and Thursdays 10–2 the current need. Collections: at least two three-hour shifts a month, Tuesday to Friday 9–4, four months minimum. Board meetings monthly at the library, open to the public
Season
Year-round; memberships expire December 31
Where
Lafayette History Museum, 108 E Simpson St
Cost
Individual $20, family $35, business $125, History Hero $300, lifetime individual $250
Registration required Join with the online membership form and PayPal, or mail or bring the form and dues to 108 E Simpson St (checks to Lafayette Historical Society). Volunteers fill out the online form and staff schedule a first meeting
Volunteer needDocents on Saturdays 8–12 and Thursdays 10–2; research and collections volunteers
A plot at Wilson Community GardensLafayette Recreation · Opens January 7 for residents and January 14 for non-residents; plots must show work by April 15 or may be reassigned
The season is over; the next is not posted yet
Ended for now
Art Night Out on Public RoadCity of Lafayette Arts & Cultural Resources · “Thank you for a great 2026 season!” the City’s page says; the 2027 dates were not posted when this was read.
Which school? It depends on the address.
Boulder Valley School District: The neighborhood school for an address, by level, with the 2027–28 attendance areas; questions to enrollment.helpdesk@bvsd.org. Boulder Valley School District: The district’s SchoolMint map; choice enrollment for 2027–28 is open November 1 to December 18. Boulder Valley School District: 10300 S Boulder Road, 720-561-7500. Boulder Valley School District: 1150 W South Boulder Road, 720-561-7100. Boulder Valley School District: 101 N Bermont Avenue, 720-561-8900. Boulder Valley School District: 1405 Centaur Village Drive, 720-561-7000. Boulder Valley School District: 655 Sir Galahad Drive, 720-561-7300. Boulder Valley School District: 101 Baseline Road, 720-561-7800. Boulder Valley School District: 800 Merlin Drive, 303-453-4600; a BVSD charter, enrolled through the district’s choice-enrollment office.
Finish signing up in the new tab, then confirm by email.
Buttondown’s page asks you to press “Verify and Subscribe”, then sends an email with a link to confirm. If the tab did not open, or it shows an error, open it again or change your details.